• Hajo Eicken — IARC Director, Professor of Geophysics
  • Scott Rupp — IARC Deputy Director, SNAP Director, AK CASC Principal Investigator, Professor
  • Uma Bhatt — CIFAR Director; Professor & Chair, Department of Atmospheric Sciences
  • Kim Cox — IARC Executive Officer
  • Nancy Fresco — SNAP Leadership, CIFAR Associate Director, Assistant Professor
  • Tom Kurkowski — SNAP Operations Lead
  • Amy Lauren Lovecraft — Director, Center for Arctic Policy Studies, Professor
  • Elena Sparrow — IARC Education and Outreach Director, Research Professor
  • Sarah Trainor — AFSC Principal Investigator, ACCAP Principal Investigator, Research Assistant Professor
  • John Walsh — IARC Chief Scientist

People of IARC

Rick Thoman, Alaska climate specialist, ACCAP   
Rick recently retired from the National Weather Service and has now joined the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy.

What do you do?
My role is climate translator. I work with ACCAP to span the bridge between climate modeling and communities. An ACCAP mission is to understand user needs, I anticipate helping our team work in that domain. For example, I am contributing to the ACCAP and IARC social media presence since that is a primary mechanism for communications across Alaska. Follow Rick on Twitter @AlaskaWx.

What are you currently working on?
We are in discussion with radio stations around the state to provide short, region specific climate and weather segments. That tailored information is a very valuable service that the university can provide to Alaska communities.

Come talk to you about?
I am available to discuss the ins and outs of weather and climate instrumentation. Having worked for NOAA for 30 years I can also provide feedback on what NOAA is really looking for in proposals.